Flowerpot Bread

It seemed an odd concept to me at first, baking bread in flowerpots, however if you think about it the ceramic pots probably hold the heat quite evenly. Today I finally found the time to bake this bread, and the outcome surprised me greatly.

The kit I had was Artisan Seeded Flowerpot Bread. After brushing the flowerpots with oil and baking them, I washed them and lined them with greaseproof paper. I mixed the flour with the yeast, water and some olive oil, and kneaded for 10 minutes, after which I split the mixture into four balls and put them into a flowerpot to rise for an hour.

Artisan Seeded Flowerpot Bread Kit

Artisan Seeded Flowerpot Bread Kit 

The flour mix and yeast ready to mix

The flour mix and yeast ready to mix

Kneading for 10 minutes

Kneading for 10 minutes

Mixture split and left to rise

Mixture split and left to rise

After the dough had risen for an hour it was suppose to be double the size, I’m not sure mine rose that much but it seemed good enough to cook, so I baked it for the 25 minutes stated in the instructions.

The risen dough

The risen dough

The baked bread seemed very solid but after I turned the rolls out onto the board and cut into one I was surprised to find that the bread had an even consistency and tasted delicious!

Baked rolls

Baked rolls

Flowerpot Bread

Flowerpot Bread

Fluffy inside

Fluffy inside

Nom

Nom

Artisan Seeded Flowerpot Bread is available to buy from Amazon.

One thought on “Flowerpot Bread

Leave a Reply

